Google DeepMind
Gemini 4 Carbon
Google announced Gemini 4 Carbon on 2026-10-28 as a cyber- and agent-focused Gemini 4 model, but it is Fairwind-only early access with no public API identifier or GA date as of 2026-10-29. The headline $4/$20 rate follows an introductory $2/$10 whose end date Google does not state. Artificial Analysis's Index v5.0 reads 59 at high effort; Google's cyber benchmarks are self-reported, and Carbon does not supersede Argon.
Gemini 4 Carbon benchmarks and pricing, every number sourced: no Gemini 4 Carbon benchmark scores tracked yet, priced at $4.00 per million input tokens and $20.00 per million output.
- Released
- 2026-10-28
- Availability
- Announced, not released: Fairwind early access only; no public API identifier and no general-release date as of 2026-10-29
- License
- proprietary
- Context window
- 1M tokensArtificial Analysis (artificialanalysis.ai/models/gemini-4-carbon: 1,048,576-token context; checked 2026-10-29); Google's announcement does not state a context window
- Knowledge cutoff
- Not disclosed
- Parameters
- Not disclosed
- Architecture
- Not disclosed
Gemini 4 Carbon announced pricing
$4.00 in / $20.00 out per 1M tokens — official pricing source
What Gemini 4 Carbon costs per job
| Workload | Tokens in / out | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| One long chat turn | 100K / 10K | $0.600 |
| A codebase review | 1,000K / 100K | $6.00 |
| A day of agent work | 10,000K / 1,000K | $60.00 |
Computed from Gemini 4 Carbon’s list rates above — cache discounts, its introductory rate, end date not stated, and batch tiers are not applied.
Gemini 4 Carbon is one of 5 Google DeepMind models tracked on this site, at these official list prices.
| Model | In / 1M | Out / 1M |
|---|---|---|
| Gemini 4 Carbon | $4.00 | $20.00 |
| Gemini 4 Argon | $4.00 | $20.00 |
| Gemini 3.8 Flash | $0.75 | $3.75 |
| Gemini 3.7 Flash(previous version) | $0.75 | $3.75 |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview | $2.00 | $12.00 |
Notes on the record
Google announced Gemini 4 Carbon on 2026-10-28 as a cyber- and agent-focused Gemini 4 model. As of 2026-10-29 it is early access, not a public launch: access starts this week with a subset of trusted cyber defenders in the Fairwind Program, with more trusted partners to follow and wider availability promised "as soon as possible". Google gives no GA date and no public API model identifier; its API models page still lists gemini-4-argon as the Gemini 4 flagship, and no gemini-4-carbon endpoint was confirmed.
Pricing is from the announcement: $2 input and $10 output per million tokens introductory, with cached input 95% off the input rate, then $4/$20 after the intro period. Google states no end date for Carbon's introductory window, unlike Argon's through 2026-11-30, so price_in/price_out use the post-intro $4/$20 and price_alt carries $2/$10. The 1,048,576-token context window comes from Artificial Analysis only — Google's announcement does not state one. Knowledge cutoff is undisclosed; parameter count and architecture are null.
The only independent read confirmed is Artificial Analysis's model page, which shows Intelligence Index v5.0 at 59 for the high-effort tier (checked 2026-10-29). Google calls that #1; the score is AA's, the ranking claim is Google's. Index v5 absolutes are not comparable with pre-v5 readings and this site cites the Index in prose rather than storing it as a tracked score row. No tracked-benchmark score is recorded for Carbon. Google's SEC-bench Pro 88.2%, ExploitGym 54.8% and CWE-bench 71.0% are self-reported, as are Google's other headline claims; none is stored as an independent score.
No supersession. Google does not describe Carbon as a replacement for Argon or any other tracked model. Argon remains on sale after its 2026-10-13 API GA and is still the Gemini 4 model in Google's API docs; Carbon is a separate, cyber-focused branch and is not yet publicly sold. Argon is not marked superseded.
Compare with
FAQ
Can you buy Gemini 4 Carbon yet?
Not yet. As of 2026-10-29 there is no public API model identifier and no general-availability date. Google says access starts this week with a subset of trusted cyber defenders in the Fairwind Program and will expand to more trusted partners before developers, businesses and consumers. Google's API models page still lists gemini-4-argon as the Gemini 4 flagship.
What does Gemini 4 Carbon cost?
Google's announcement lists $2.00 input and $10.00 output per million tokens as introductory rates, with cached input at 95% off the input rate. After the introductory period those rates become $4.00 / $20.00. Carbon has no stated intro end date — unlike Argon's through 2026-11-30 — so the $2/$10 should not be assumed to expire on Argon's schedule. Figures are from the blog, checked 2026-10-29.
What is Gemini 4 Carbon's context window?
1,048,576 tokens, sourced to Artificial Analysis rather than Google. The figure comes from its model page (checked 2026-10-29); Google's announcement does not state a context window, so this page labels 1,048,576 as an AA-sourced figure rather than vendor-stated. A knowledge cutoff is not disclosed.
Which Gemini 4 Carbon scores are independent?
No tracked-benchmark score is stored for Carbon yet. The independent read confirmed is Artificial Analysis's Intelligence Index v5.0 of 59 at high effort (checked 2026-10-29); Google calls that #1, but the ranking is the vendor's claim. The Index is cited in prose, not stored as a tracked score row, and v5 absolutes are not comparable with pre-v5 readings. SEC-bench Pro 88.2%, ExploitGym 54.8% and CWE-bench 71.0% are Google's self-reported cybersecurity figures. No HLE or other tracked score is recorded.
Is Gemini 4 Carbon open source?
No. This site records it as proprietary; Google publishes no weights and no open-weights release. Access is limited to the Fairwind Program early-access channel as of 2026-10-29, with no public API model identifier or partner list published.
How does Gemini 4 Carbon compare with Gemini 4 Argon?
Carbon is not a successor. Google does not say it replaces Argon, Argon remains on sale after its 2026-10-13 API GA, and Google's API docs still list gemini-4-argon as the Gemini 4 flagship. Carbon is a second, cyber-focused line in Fairwind-only early access with no public API id. Both headline $4/$20 with a $2/$10 intro; Argon's intro ends 2026-11-30, Carbon's end date is unstated. Argon has three independent tracked scores here (HLE 57.09, AA-AnalystAgent 48.75, vals.ai Terminal-Bench 4.0 57.58); Carbon has none stored, though AA's Index v5.0 reads 59 at high versus Argon's 50 at high.
Further reading
- Models with 10M token context windows 2026 — Gemini 4 Carbon is one of the 47 models it compares.
- Self-reported vs. independent AI benchmarks — the self-reported-versus-independent rule every score on Gemini 4 Carbon’s page follows.