Google DeepMind

Gemini 3.8 Flash

Gemini 3.8 Flash launched at the identical $0.75/$3.75 introductory price as its own predecessor and, per Google's own model card, isn't a new pretraining run at all — it's Gemini 3.7 Flash with post-training improvements — yet all ten of its tracked benchmarks carry an independently-run score, including a DeepSWE result (74% at high effort) that ties Claude Opus 5 for the top spot on that board.

Gemini 3.8 Flash benchmarks and pricing, every number sourced: 10 tracked Gemini 3.8 Flash benchmark scores (10 independently run, 0 still resting on a vendor’s own claim), priced at $0.75 per million input tokens and $3.75 per million output.

Released
2026-09-02
License
proprietary
Context window
1M tokens
Knowledge cutoff
2026-03
Verified
sources checked 2026-09-03–2026-10-15
Succeeded
Gemini 3.7 Flash (2026-08-13)
Parameters
Not disclosed
Architecture
Not disclosed

Gemini 3.8 Flash’s verified record

Gemini 3.8 Flash’s most-compared rival is Qwen3.8-Max: 1 trail, 2 leads, 1 tie, and 4 not callable — no overall winner across their 8 shared comparisons. Gemini 3.8 Flash is priced at $0.75/$3.75 per 1M tokens (in/out) vs Qwen3.8-Max’s $2.00/$6.00.

Against the 224 head-to-head comparisons Gemini 3.8 Flash shares with other tracked models:

25 real gaps35 inside the band164 not called

A gap counts for Gemini 3.8 Flash only where both sides were run independently and the benchmark still separates models. Losses are listed alongside wins on purpose — Gemini 3.8 Flash trails on 6 of them.

HLE · no tools Reasoning

±2 is noise
Behind
Ahead
Qwen3.8-Max +4.7 · DeepSeek V4 Pro (0813) +6.8 · GLM-5.3-Flash +7.9 · MiniMax M3 +8.8 · Qwen3.8-Flash-Next +9.8 · Mistral Large 4 +12.8 · 2 previous: Grok 4.6 +4.9 · GLM-5.2 +6.7
Tie
7 models within ±2
Unverified
1 model — vendor-reported on one side
Setup-dependent
21 models — scored on a different harness or effort tier

LiveBench Composite score across 7 domains

±2.7 is noise
Behind
Qwen3.8-Max −2.7 · Kimi K3 −3.4 · 1 previous: Gemini 3.7 Flash −3.0
Ahead
Tie
7 models within ±2.7
Setup-dependent
17 models — scored on a different harness or effort tier

DeepSWE Long-horizon coding

±9.5 is noise
Ahead
Qwen3.8-Max +17.0 · 4 previous: Claude Opus 4.8 +15.0 · Claude Sonnet 5 +20.0 · DeepSeek V4 Flash (0731) +21.0 · GLM-5.2 +30.0
Tie
5 models within ±9.5
Unverified
11 models — vendor-reported on one side
Setup-dependent
8 models — scored on a different harness or effort tier

AnalystAgent Spreadsheet & document analysis

±11.2 is noise
Behind
1 previous: Gemini 3.7 Flash −13.8
Ahead
Step 5 Preview +11.3 · MiniMax M3 +36.3
Tie
5 models within ±11.2
Setup-dependent
18 models — scored on a different harness or effort tier

Terminal-Bench 4.0 · high Terminal ops

±12.4 is noise
Behind
Tie
5 models within ±12.4

ARC-AGI-2 · high Compositional visual reasoning

±9.2 is noise
Ahead
1 previous: Claude Opus 4.8 +17.1
Tie
2 models within ±9.2

No verdict for Gemini 3.8 Flash anywhere on Terminal-Bench 2.1 ( every independently confirmed comparison inside the noise band); GPQA Diamond, LiveCodeBench, SWE-bench Verified ( saturated).

What changed from Gemini 3.7 Flash to Gemini 3.8 Flash

The 10 benchmarks both models have been scored on, using the same variant each time. A raw Gemini 3.8 Flash gain is not a real gain until it clears that benchmark’s own noise band, so each row below carries the verdict and not just the arithmetic.

Gemini 3.8 Flash versus Gemini 3.7 Flash, per-benchmark change and whether it clears the noise band
BenchmarkGemini 3.7 FlashGemini 3.8 FlashChangeVerdict
HLE47.947.8-0.1Tie
Terminal-Bench 2.185.887.6+1.8Tie
DeepSWE6574+9.0Tie
SWE-bench Verified80.880-0.8Tainted
GPQA Diamond93.9494.44+0.5Tainted
LiveCodeBench88.6589.48+0.8Tainted
ARC-AGI-284.689.2+4.6Tie
LiveBench78.875.8-3.0Real gap
AnalystAgent6046.25-13.8Real gap
Terminal-Bench 4.012.1219.19+7.1Tie

Gemini 3.8 Flash API pricing

$0.75 in / $3.75 out per 1M tokens — official pricing source

What Gemini 3.8 Flash costs per job

Gemini 3.8 Flash cost for three reference workloads, computed from its list rates
WorkloadTokens in / outCost
One long chat turn100K / 10K$0.113
A codebase review1,000K / 100K$1.13
A day of agent work10,000K / 1,000K$11.25

Computed from Gemini 3.8 Flash’s list rates above — cache discounts and batch tiers are not applied.

Gemini 3.8 Flash is one of 4 Google DeepMind models tracked on this site, at these official list prices.

Google DeepMind model pricing, official list rates
ModelIn / 1MOut / 1M
Gemini 4 Argon$4.00$20.00
Gemini 3.8 Flash$0.75$3.75
Gemini 3.7 Flash(previous version)$0.75$3.75
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview$2.00$12.00

Gemini 3.8 Flash benchmark scores

Gemini 3.8 Flash benchmark scores, provenance, and source links
BenchmarkScore
HLE(no tools)[1]
Reasoning · ±2 is noise
Terminal-Bench 2.1[2]
Terminal ops · ±10.6 is noise
GPQA Diamondsaturated[3]
Expert science Q&A — not ranked at any gap size
LiveCodeBenchsaturated[4]
Contest coding — not ranked at any gap size
SWE-bench Verifiedsaturated[5]
Bug fixing — not ranked at any gap size
DeepSWE[6]
Long-horizon coding · ±9.5 is noise
ARC-AGI-2(high)[7]
Compositional visual reasoning · ±9.2 is noise
LiveBench[8]
Composite score across 7 domains · ±2.7 is noise
Terminal-Bench 4.0(high)[9]
Terminal ops · ±12.4 is noise
AnalystAgent[10]
Spreadsheet & document analysis · ±11.2 is noise

Who ran these numbers: 10 of 10 independent — vals.ai (4), artificialanalysis.ai (3), deepswe.datacurve.ai (1), arcprize.org (1), livebench.ai (1).

  1. HLE: AA's own run of Gemini 3.8 Flash at high effort, text-only subset.
  2. Terminal-Bench 2.1: AA's own run of 'Gemini 3.8 Flash (high)'; AA also lists medium (83.9%) and low (83.15%) effort tiers, not tracked here. Not yet on tbench.ai's official board. vals.ai's own harness (Terminus 2) scores it lower still, 81.27% ±0.38 — a 6.3-point spread between two independent sources on the same benchmark.
  3. GPQA Diamond: vals.ai run (94.44%), rank 4 of 138.
  4. LiveCodeBench: vals.ai run (89.48%), rank 3.
  5. SWE-bench Verified: vals.ai run, bash-only mini-swe-agent harness (80.00%±1.79), rank 24 of 88 — fractionally below Gemini 3.7 Flash's own 80.8% on the same board, a difference well inside this benchmark's own noise threshold.
  6. DeepSWE: 74%±1 on mini-swe-agent, high effort (v1.1 board, updated 2026-09-02) — same high-effort tier as Gemini 3.7 Flash's own 65% row on the same board (a 9-point gap that still lands just inside this benchmark's meaningful_gap of 9.5); ties Claude Opus 5 [max] for the top spot.
  7. ARC-AGI-2: ARC Prize's own leaderboard row 'Gemini 3.8 Flash (High)', dated 2026-09-02: 89.2% at $0.400/task, the top of the model's three populated tiers (Medium 82.9, Low 77.5). No tier above High exists for this model.
  8. LiveBench: Board row 'Gemini 3.8 Flash High' on the 2026-06-25 LiveBench release: 75.8, the only tier populated for this model. Sits 3.6 points under Gemini 3.7 Flash's 78.8 (also High) — a real gap past the 2.7 band, in line with that generation step's mixed independent picture.
  9. Terminal-Bench 4.0: vals.ai board row — mini-swe-agent harness (single bash tool), pass@1 averaged over 3 full passes, raw value 19.192 at effort high. Artificial Analysis same-conditions run (High): 19.7. Official board (grant-funded, mini-SWE-agent, high effort, 5-trial pass@1): 19.09 ± 3.36 CI — 0.1 points below this run.
  10. AnalystAgent: AA's own run, board row 'Gemini 3.8 Flash (High)': analystAgent 0.4625 = 46.25 pass^5. pass@1 is 61.25. Read from the Gemini 3.8 Flash (High) page on 2026-10-15.

Notes on the record

Gemini 3.8 Flash launched September 2, 2026, per Google's own announcement blog post and DeepMind model card (independently corroborated by 9to5Google and Android Headlines the same day). Per its own model card, it "is based on Gemini 3.7 Flash" — an incremental update, not a new pretraining run — which is why its knowledge cutoff carries over unchanged (see below). Google's own comparison table treats it as the next iteration built on Gemini 3.7 Flash; so that model is a previous version here.

Headline API pricing is $0.75/MTok input and $3.75/MTok output — identical to Gemini 3.7 Flash's own current introductory rate, both confirmed side by side on Google's Gemini API pricing page (checked 2026-09-03). Both rates are introductory only: from 2027-01-01 they double to $1.50 in / $7.50 out. Batch API pricing is half the standard rate ($0.375/$1.875, doubling the same way on the same date), per the same page.

The context window carries over at 1,048,576 tokens in, per Google's Gemini API models reference; max output is 65,536 tokens (Google's own model card rounds this to "64K"). Knowledge cutoff is March 2026, with Google's own model card cautioning that some domains' coverage only reaches January 2025 — the identical wording and date used for Gemini 3.7 Flash's own cutoff, consistent with 3.8 Flash's own statement that it is not a new pretraining run.

A specialized sibling shipped the same day: Gemini 3.8 Flash Cyber, "powered by the same foundational intelligence" per Google's announcement but tuned for vulnerability detection and automated patching, restricted to vetted government and critical-infrastructure operators under Google's invitation-only Fairwind Program — the same access-restriction pattern this site has recorded for other labs' restricted-access siblings (e.g. Claude Mythos 5.1 — a different case in substance, the identical model with fewer guardrails rather than a tuned variant, but gated the same way). Cyber is not on any of the fourteen boards this site tracks and is not covered here.

Within a day of launch, six benchmarks this site tracks carried an independently-run Gemini 3.8 Flash score — GPQA Diamond, SWE-bench Verified, LiveCodeBench, Humanity's Last Exam, Terminal-Bench 2.1, and DeepSWE — all from vals.ai, Artificial Analysis or DeepSWE's own board, none from Google. On 2026-10-03 ARC-AGI-2 (89.2% at High) and LiveBench (75.8% at High) joined, bringing the page to eight of eight; AA-AnalystAgent scored Gemini 3.7 Flash but has not added 3.8 Flash, and Toolathlon-Verified, Agents' Last Exam, and HMMT Feb 2026 have never scored any Gemini Flash-line model, 3.8 Flash included.

Google's own launch materials claim an "HLE-Verified" score of 54.9% — a different figure from, and not directly comparable to, the 47.8% this site records from Artificial Analysis's independent no-tools run; Google discloses neither a methodology note nor a benchmark-family relationship for its own number, so the two are reported separately rather than merged.

DeepSWE's own v1.1 board scores Gemini 3.8 Flash at high effort (74%, tied with Claude Opus 5 for the top spot); Gemini 3.7 Flash's own tracked DeepSWE score (65%) used the same high-effort tier, so this is a clean same-effort comparison — the 9-point gap still lands just inside this benchmark's own noise band (meaningful_gap 9.5 on 113 tasks), not a real gap. Terminal-Bench 2.1 is Artificial Analysis's own run (Terminus 2 harness, 87.6%); the benchmark's canonical board, tbench.ai, had not added Gemini 3.8 Flash as of this writing, and vals.ai's own harness (also called Terminus 2, but a different independent run) scores it lower, 81.27% ±0.38 — a 6.3-point spread between two sources this site treats as equally independent.

Not every number moved up: on SWE-bench Verified, Gemini 3.8 Flash's own vals.ai score (80.00%) sits fractionally below Gemini 3.7 Flash's own tracked score on the same board (80.80%) — a 0.8-point difference that is noise, not a regression, well inside this benchmark's own meaningful-gap threshold.

Compare with

FAQ

Has Gemini 3.8 Flash been independently benchmarked?

Fully, as of 2026-10-15 — every benchmark this site tracks a score for now carries an independently-run number: GPQA Diamond (94.44%, vals.ai), SWE-bench Verified (80.00%, vals.ai), LiveCodeBench (89.48%, vals.ai), Humanity's Last Exam (47.8%, Artificial Analysis, no-tools), Terminal-Bench 2.1 (87.6%, Artificial Analysis), DeepSWE (74% at high effort) and AA-AnalystAgent (46.25 pass^5, high), and — added 2026-10-03 — ARC-AGI-2 (89.2% at High, ARC Prize's own row) and LiveBench (75.8% at High, the board's 2026-06-25 release). Those last two had only scored the prior 3.7 Flash; Toolathlon-Verified, Agents' Last Exam, and HMMT Feb 2026 have never scored any Gemini Flash-line model, so this page tracks no row for them. None of the ten tracked scores here come from Google's own claimed numbers.

How does Gemini 3.8 Flash pricing compare to Gemini 3.7 Flash?

It's identical: $0.75 per million input tokens and $3.75 per million output tokens, confirmed side by side on Google's own Gemini API pricing page — the same introductory rate Gemini 3.7 Flash already carries, both good only through 2026-12-31. From 2027-01-01 both models' rates double to $1.50 in / $7.50 out per million tokens.

Is Gemini 3.8 Flash a new model, or an update to Gemini 3.7 Flash?

An update, by Google's own account: its model card states plainly that "Gemini 3.8 Flash is based on Gemini 3.7 Flash," pointing to the earlier model's own card for architecture and training-data details rather than describing a new pretraining run. That lineage is also why the knowledge cutoff carries over unchanged — March 2026, with the same caveat that some domains' coverage only reaches January 2025.

What is Gemini 3.8 Flash Cyber, and is it the same model?

A separate, restricted release announced the same day. Google describes it as "powered by the same foundational intelligence" as the base Gemini 3.8 Flash but tuned specifically for vulnerability detection and automated patching, and it is limited to vetted government agencies and critical-infrastructure operators under Google's invitation-only Fairwind Program — a similar access restriction to other labs' restricted-access siblings this site has recorded elsewhere, such as Claude Mythos 5.1 (which, unlike Cyber, is the identical model with fewer guardrails rather than a tuned variant). Cyber is not independently benchmarked on any board this site tracks and isn't covered separately here.

Does Gemini 3.8 Flash replace Gemini 3.7 Flash, or sit alongside it?

It replaces it. Google's own materials describe 3.8 Flash as the next iteration built on 3.7 Flash, the same relationship this site uses to mark a previous version (as with Claude Fable 5 → Claude Fable 5.1 and GLM-5.2 → GLM-5.3) — Gemini 3.7 Flash stays on this site for comparison, not deleted, but is no longer the current recommendation.

What is Gemini 3.8 Flash's knowledge cutoff?

March 2026. The context window holds at 1,048,576 tokens — the same MiB-scale figure the Gemini Flash line has carried — and pricing keeps Gemini 3.7 Flash's rates rather than introducing new tiers.

Further reading

Benchmark guides